Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
Post Reply
cyr0nk0r
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:18 am

Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Ok, well, things aren't working. Please see CLI outputs. The CLI keeps reporting that the CLI identifier has an invalid format.

Code: Select all

PS C:\Program Files\PrimoCache> .\rxpcc.exe storage
Level-2 Storage List
====================

Vol #9     Identifier {B8363620-8E3C-41CC-B368-21436653DD59}
  Label: Cache
  Free/Capacity: 9.98GB/9.98GB

  Partition      Capacity         Cache
  -------------------------------------
  Free           9.98GB

PS C:\Program Files\PrimoCache>
And the output of my command trying to create a new cache task.

Code: Select all

PS C:\Program Files\PrimoCache> .\rxpcc.exe new -v P -m 512 -l {B8363620-8E3C-41CC-B368-21436653DD59}
Warning: -l option: invalid identifier format.
An identifier has the format like {xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx},
where each "x" represents a hexadecimal digit.
Warning: unrecognized option '-outputFormat'.
Warning: Argument 'QgA4ADMANgAzADYAMgAwAC0AOABFADMAQwAtADQAMQBDAEMALQBCADMANgA4AC0AMgAxADQAMwA2ADYANQAzAEQARAA1ADkA' is unrecognized and ignored!
Warning: Argument 'xml' is unrecognized and ignored!
Warning: Argument 'text' is unrecognized and ignored!

New Cache Task Configuration
----------------------------
  Level-1 Cache: 512MB
    MM: 512MB, IM: 0MB
    R/W Ratio: Shared
    Options: -
  Level-2 Cache: 0MB
  Block Size: 4KB
  Defer-Write: Disabled
  Prefetch: Disabled
Overhead: 26MB
Volume: #6

Press 'Y' or 'y' to create this cache task, any other key to cancel:
Last edited by cyr0nk0r on Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
cyr0nk0r
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:18 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by cyr0nk0r »

any help? This is super frustrating since I'm literally using the EXACT same format as the example and I'm getting an error.

Code: Select all

PS C:\Program Files\PrimoCache> .\rxpcc.exe new -v p -m 512 -l {B8363620-8E3C-41CC-B368-21436653DD59},1024 -b 512
Warning: -l option: invalid identifier format.
An identifier has the format like {xxxxxxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxxxxxxxxxx},
where each "x" represents a hexadecimal digit.
cyr0nk0r
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:18 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Even more problems. As a troubleshooting step I was going to try and delete this L2 cache volume and start over but I can't even do that!
What is up with this software?

Code: Select all

Level-2 Storage List
====================

Vol #8     Identifier {B8363620-8E3C-41CC-B368-21436653DD59}
  Label: Cache
  Free/Capacity: 9.98GB/9.98GB

  Partition      Capacity         Cache
  -------------------------------------
  Free           9.98GB

PS C:\Program Files\PrimoCache> .\rxpcc.exe storage delpart -v 8
Are you sure to delete the partition #4294967295 in the volume #8 (Cache)?
Press 'Y' or 'y' to continue, any other key to cancel: y

Error: Partition #4294967295 is not found!
PS C:\Program Files\PrimoCache>
cyr0nk0r
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:18 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Ok, so I finally figured out the problem. I'd like to point out that NOWHERE is this documented.
If you use PowerShell when interacting with rxpcc.exe these commands will fail. You MUST use cmd.exe (DOS).

Even in command (DOS) I'm still unable to delete the L2 cache disk. (and yes, I'm running it as an administrator)
EDIT: Have tested to see if MBR vs GPT partition styles might be the cause. Nope. The error below happens regardless. Bug?

Code: Select all

Level-2 Storage List
====================

Vol #8     Identifier {B8363620-8E3C-41CC-B368-21436653DD59}
  Label: Cache
  Free/Capacity: 9.98GB/9.98GB

  Partition      Capacity         Cache
  -------------------------------------
  Free           9.98GB


C:\Program Files\PrimoCache>rxpcc.exe storage delpart -v 8
Are you sure to delete the partition #4294967295 in the volume #8 (Cache)?
Press 'Y' or 'y' to continue, any other key to cancel: y

Error: Partition #4294967295 is not found!

C:\Program Files\PrimoCache>
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3638
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by Support »

delpart is to delete L2 partitions inside the L2 storage device. Use Windows DISKPART to delete the whole L2 storage device.
type diskpart.exe, then
list disk
select disk # (# is the number of the disk where L2 storage device locates)
list partition
select partition # (# is the partition of L2 storage device)
DELETE partition

Now L2 storage device will be deleted. Then you may create a new partition by the following command:
CREATE PARTITION PRIMARY SIZE=xxxx
(Change the word PRIMARY to EXTENDED to create an extended partition. If you do not set a size -- in megabytes -- then all available space on the disk will be used for the partition. )
cyr0nk0r
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:18 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by cyr0nk0r »

I accept your answer, but why can I 'create' an L2 storage volume within PrimoCache, but I can't delete it? That doesn't make a lot of sense.
I have found that going into diskpart and 'cleaning' the disk will also work. But I wasn't sure if deleting the partition from another application (diskpart) would leave any lingering configuration behind in PrimoCache. Since in most every application if you can create something you can also delete it.

Thank you for answering this.
EDIT: You should REALLY document somewhere that using powershell to interact with rxpcc.exe will cause instability and issues. If you're supporting Windows Server 2019 and beyond and especially since you're supporting 'core' versions of those server OS's most tech savvy administrators are going to be using powershell for most everything now a days.
User avatar
Support
Support Team
Support Team
Posts: 3638
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by Support »

This is just because CLI hasn't added this function yet. Sorry.
cyr0nk0r
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:18 am

Re: Using the CLI is confusing, need some help (invalid identifier format)

Post by cyr0nk0r »

Support wrote: Wed Oct 07, 2020 5:29 am This is just because CLI hasn't added this function yet. Sorry.
No need to apologize. Appreciate the answer now that I understand what's going on. I was pulling my hair out thinking it was a problem with the CLI or how I was doing it.
Post Reply