Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Report bugs or suggestions around Primo Ramdisk
carlozombres
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:36 pm

Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by carlozombres » Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:17 pm

hello,

i tested primo ramdisk mainly because of the nice dynamic option. it sounded really great.

but in fact, it doesn't work properly. if i copy some big file to the ram disk and delete it straight away, it does work.
if i unpack my cygwin environment (with lots of files, packed 150MB, unpacked 1100 MB) to the rem disk and delete it, only a
small part of the RAM gets released.
the funny thin is, if i do the same again, it works.

so:
i start with ~2.5 GB used RAM, unpack cygwin --> ~3.9 GB used RAM
now i delete everything --> still ~3.5 GB used RAM (where's the rest?)
unpack cygwin again --> now ~4.5 GB RAM in use
delete everything again --> 3.5 GB RAM in use (as it should be!)
unpack another cygwin version and delete it --> now 4.0 GB in use
no i do reinitialize the EMPTY RAM disk... and tataaaaa --> back to my initial 2.55 GB used RAM


after all, primo usually gives not the full amount of RAM back.


i am using
- Win7 Home Premium
- Primo Ramdisk 5.6 (2.0 GB size, Direct-IO, dynamic, NTFS with no NTFS compression, no image file)
- 8 GB RAM

Incriminated
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 3:03 pm

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by Incriminated » Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:12 am

Maybe you could try to delete the temporarily extracted archive from your temp-directory in windows-system to see if it dynacimally decreasing RAM-DIsk size now works ;)

carlozombres
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:36 pm

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by carlozombres » Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:51 am

hm... don't exactly know what you mean. what does have the temp. directory to do with my RAM consumption?
the temp isn't set to the RAM disk. the RAM disk is completely empty.

User avatar
intika
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:10 am

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by intika » Wed Apr 30, 2014 7:29 pm

Hello,

it's probably related to windows swap system.

Put minimum value on swap file and try again.

Microsoft call his swap system (Virtual Memory)

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... =windows-7

InquiringMind
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:10 pm

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by InquiringMind » Wed Apr 30, 2014 11:28 pm

carlozombres wrote:...now i delete everything --> still ~3.5 GB used RAM (where's the rest?)...
Did you empty the Recycle Bin after deleting? If not, then it may be that which is using space on the Ramdisk (files deleted on a volume go to the recycle bin folder on the same volume).

Viewing the disk properties for the ramdisk is another way of checking how much space is being used by the recycle bin and other "hidden" files. If the ramdisk shows up there as empty (or nearly empty) then the 3.5GB memory usage would be harder to explain.

Jamil
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 12:31 am

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by Jamil » Thu May 01, 2014 6:44 am

I did not think that files deleted from Primo Ramdisk could go into the recycle bin. At least they never go there when I delete files from my ram disk. I never set options telling windows not to recycle deleted files.

Double checking my recycle bin properties, it is not possible to add a recycle bin for my Z: drive, which is my ram disk.

iamdimulya
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2015 5:29 pm

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by iamdimulya » Sun Nov 22, 2015 5:59 am

I found same probem and check my configurations on different OS - Windows 7 x64 SP1 (updated1, updated2), Windows 2008 R2 SP1, Windows 8.1 Update 3 x64.
Now I'm sure, that only Windows 7 x64 SP1 updated1 works correctly. Than after Installing new updates Primo doesn't ACTIALLY free RAM.
This is old configuration, list of installed updates:
Description HotFixID
Update KB971033
Update KB976902
Update KB982018
Security KB2479943
Security KB2491683
Update KB2506014
Security KB2506212
Update KB2506928
Security KB2509553
Security KB2511455
Update KB2515325
Update KB2529073
Update KB2533552
Hotfix KB2534111
Security KB2536275
Security KB2536276
Update KB2541014
Security KB2544893
Update KB2545698
Update KB2547666
Update KB2552343
Security KB2560656
Update KB2563227
Security KB2564958
Security KB2570947
Security KB2579686
Security KB2584146
Security KB2585542
Update KB2603229
Security KB2604115
Security KB2619339
Security KB2620704
Security KB2621440
Security KB2631813
Hotfix KB2639308
Update KB2640148
Security KB2644615
Security KB2645640
Update KB2647753
Security KB2653956
Security KB2654428
Security KB2655992
Security KB2656356
Security KB2656411
Security KB2659262
Update KB2660075
Security KB2660649
Update KB2661254
Security KB2667402
Update KB2670838
Security KB2676562
Update KB2685811
Update KB2685813
Security KB2685939
Security KB2690533
Security KB2691442
Security KB2698365
Update KB2699779
Security KB2705219
Update KB2709630
Security KB2712808
Update KB2718695
Update KB2718695
Update KB2718704
Update KB2719857
Update KB2726535
Security KB2727528
Update KB2729094
Security KB2729452
Update KB2732059
Update KB2732487
Update KB2732500
Update KB2736233
Security KB2736422
Update KB2739159
Security KB2742599
Security KB2743555
Update KB2749655
Update KB2750841
Security KB2753842
Security KB2756921
Security KB2757638
Update KB2761217
Update KB2763523
Update KB2764913
Update KB2764913
Update KB2764916
Update KB2764916
Security KB2769369
Security KB2770660
Update KB2773072
Update KB2779562
Security KB2785220
Update KB2786081
Update KB2786400
Security KB2789645
Security KB2790113
Security KB2790655
Update KB2791765
Update KB2799926
Security KB2807986
Security KB2808735
Security KB2813170
Security KB2813347 2013-Apr-08 (All updates installed till with one)
+Update KB2852386 (New Update for DiskCleanUp Wizard)

With this updates FREE RAM works perfect.
Please help to find modern update(s), that stops free up RAM working.

carlozombres
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 8:36 pm

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by carlozombres » Fri Jan 18, 2019 9:21 pm

Optimize: Improve the Dynamic Memory Release feature and fix the issue that dynamic memory may not fully released after files were deleted.
i wonder if this is related?

User avatar
support
Posts: 2379
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 2:42 am

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by support » Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:06 am

yes.
Primo Ramdisk | PrimoCache
Romex Software Support

rumbah
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 5:52 am

Re: Primo doesn't really free the RAM

Post by rumbah » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:59 am

Well, for me it works a little bit better than before with 6.3.1 but I still have the problem that sometimes the memory doesn't get freed. Then I have to manually reinitialize the disk to get all memory back.

Post Reply