FAQ, getting help, user experience about PrimoCache
rajdude
Level 4
Level 4

New build. RAID5 on RST ok?

Post by rajdude »

Hello everyone,
A big hello from a newbie here!

So I am about to update a 10 year old home server. The new setup will have this:
  • Supermicro server motherboard
  • Cheap Xeon CPU
  • 8 GB RAM ECC
  • 4 or 5 NAS HDDs maybe 4 TB or 6 TB each, trying to get 7200 rpm ones
  • RAID 5 created in BIOS using Intel RST
  • OS can be Windows 10 or Windows Server 2016
  • 120 GB SATA SSD for OS
  • 120 GB SATA SSD for PrimoCache
  • Usage: Lots of photos and home videos (around 70,000) Some ripped DVDs and Blu-Rays also. Currently around 5 TB used.
Questions:
  1. Will this config work well? Any teaks needed?
  2. Will I be OK with RST managing the RAID and PrimoCache accelerating only the RAID array?
(Asking because I hear PrimoCache used to have issues with RST.)

Thanks for your input!

-rajdude
Jaga
Contributor
Contributor

Re: New build. RAID5 on RST ok?

Post by Jaga »

It was many years ago that RST caused problems for Primocache, but it didn't last long after I sent a report into Romex support. They squashed the bug/problem in about 36 hours. I've heard confirmation recently from them that it poses no problem at all.

What is your strategy for using Primocache on the server? With 8GB of RAM you won't have a lot for a L1 cache, but it seems like you devoted a 120GB SSD for a L2 cache (which should help quite a bit). Do you plan on caching the RAID 5 array with the SSD? It's a large enough array that you may get low hitrates if a lot of data resides on it.